Skip to main content
Main Content

Congratulations, award winners!

For immediate release (Des Moines, IA) July 18, 2022:

Today, Community Colleges for Iowa announced the 2022 winners of the annual Community Colleges for Iowa Awards. These awards recognize faculty, staff, leaders, and Trustees from across Iowa’s 15 Community Colleges for their dedication to excellence and accessible education for all.

The awards will be presented Thursday night (July 21) at an event hosted by Western Iowa Tech Community College in Sioux City as a part of the Community Colleges for Iowa Trustee Conference. This year, for the first time, the awardees include one outstanding staff member and one outstanding faculty member from each college. These awardees were selected by their college for their service and leadership to their college and community.

“These awards are a great opportunity to recognize the incredible people who make Iowa’s Community Colleges successful,” said Emily Shields, Executive Director. “These individuals work together to improve the lives of students and make Iowa a better place for all.”

In addition to the outstanding staff and faculty recognition, awardees were also selected by a board committee for Trustee leadership, Community Services, and commitment to Diversity and Equity.

Community Colleges for Iowa Awards:

  • Community Service Award: Missouri River Historical Development
  • Outstanding Diversity/Equity Award: Iowa Western Community College Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee
  • Trustee Leadership Award: Derrick Franck, Western Iowa Tech Community College Trustee
  • John P. Kibbie Award: Janet Fife-LaFrenz, Southeastern Community College

Quarter Century Awards:

  • Ken Reimer, Northeast Iowa Community College
  • Joe Pugel, Des Moines Area Community College
  • Bob Rasmus, Western Iowa Tech Community College
  • Russell Wray, Western Iowa Tech Community College
  • Jerry Smith, Southwestern Community College                       


Outstanding Faculty and Staff (by college):

Northeast Iowa Community College

  • Outstanding Faculty: Duane Bouska - John Deere TECH Agriculture Instructor
  • Outstanding Staff: Kelly McMahon - Executive Director for Risk Management & Title IX

North Iowa Area Community College

  • Outstanding Faculty: Brent Hamilton - Math Instructor
  • Outstanding Staff: Tony Pappas - Director of Facilities Management

Iowa Lakes Community College

  • Outstanding Faculty: Corey Menning - Construction Technology Assistant Professor
  • Outstanding Staff: Cindy Oviatt - President's Administrative Assistant & Board Secretary

Northwest Iowa Community College

  • Outstanding Faculty: Robert Hoting - Welding Instructor
  • Outstanding Staff: David Van Egdom - Transportation Program Coordinator

Iowa Central Community College

  • Outstanding Faculty: Mike Richards - Associate Agriculture Instructor
  • Outstanding Staff: Kevin Twait - Intercollegiate Athletics Director and Athletics Fundraising Director

Iowa Valley Community College District

  • Outstanding Faculty: P.J. Colbert - English Professor
  • Outstanding Staff: Cindy Schulte - Director of Government Affairs

Hawkeye Community College

  • Outstanding Faculty: Cindy Koehn - Assistant Professor & Program Director for Occupational Therapy Assistant Program
  • Outstanding Staff: Mary Pat Moore - Executive Director of Public Relations and Marketing

Eastern Iowa Community College

  • Outstanding Faculty: Christine Solheim - District Coordinator for Administrative & Office Professional Program
  • Outstanding Staff: Jane Haugland - Financial Aid Officer

Kirkwood Community College

  • Outstanding Faculty: Zac Hall - Parks and Natural Resources Associate Professor
  • Outstanding Staff: Doris Nyaga - Director of Grants Development

Des Moines Area Community College

  • Outstanding Faculty: Jeremy Hoffmann - Cyber Security Program Chair & Associate Professor
  • Outstanding Staff: Carolyn Farlow - Director of Institutional Effectiveness

Western Iowa Tech Community College

  • Outstanding Faculty: Karl Stodden - Mechanical Engineering & Manufacturing Instructor
  • Outstanding Staff: Troy Jasman - Vice President of Finance & Administration Services, Chief Financial Officer

Iowa Western Community College

  • Outstanding Faculty: Kelli Blair - Medical Assistant Instructor, Accreditation Liaison, Department Chair
  • Outstanding Staff: Reanna Heim - Dean of Student Life

Southwestern Community College

  • Outstanding Faculty: Jeff Magneson - Auto Collision Repair & Refinish Program Instructor
  • Outstanding Staff: Terri Higgins - Director of Marketing and Enrollment Management

Indian Hills Community College

  • Outstanding Faculty: Susan Wilson - Computer Software Development Professor
  • Outstanding Staff: Bianca Myers - Director of Marketing and Community Relations

Southeastern Community College

  • Outstanding Faculty: Amber Ruskell-Lamer - Biology Professor
  • Outstanding Staff: Angela Mickelson - Accessibility Coordinator

Learn more at


© 2023 Community Colleges for Iowa. All rights reserved.