Skip to main content
Main Content

Phi Theta Kappa

Posted on March 23, 2023 at 12:00 PM by Monica Clark

In February, we had the pleasure of helping to host the annual All-Iowa Academic Team Awards event in Des Moines recognizing outstanding students in the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society.  

What is PTK? 

PTK is a national society specifically for community college students, and all fifteen Iowa colleges have chapters that offer programming and support. Annually, each college recognizes students from this program, and many also receive recognition at the national level. This year’s host college, Indian Hills, did an amazing job putting together a digital program where you can find out more about this year’s honorees as well as going above and beyond photographing the event.  

How was this year special? 

First, Iowa had a record number of students receiving national recognition, including one student who is one of only 20 students chosen nationally for the All-USA Academic Team. This Team recognizes high-achieving college students who demonstrate academic excellence and intellectual rigor combined with leadership and service that extends their education beyond the classroom to benefit society. Other students were recognized for the Coca-Cola Academic Team and New Century Scholars Programs and will also be announced nationally next month. 

PTK also recognizes leaders who champion our students 

This year, Northwest Iowa Community College President John Hartog and Clinton Community College President Brian Kelly (part of Eastern Iowa Community Colleges) were two of the only 28 presidents nationally to receive the Paragon Award for New Presidents which, “recognizes college presidents who have shown support of student success initiatives leading to stronger pathways to completion, transfer, and employment.” Additionally, Mardell Mommsen-Flippen of Clinton Community College was one of 30 nationally given the Distinguished College Administrator Award. 

All national awards will be presented at the upcoming PTK Catalyst 2023, the Society’s annual convention in Columbus, Ohio, April 20-22. 

Here are just a few photos from the event, but more can be found on our page!

Group shot of EICC Honorees and EICC President Dr. Sonya Williams.

Group photo of Indian Hills honorees and IHCC President Matt Thompson.

Group photo of SCC honorees and SCC President Michael Ash.

Tagged As: PTK

There are no comments yet.
Add Comment

* Indicates a required field

© 2023 Community Colleges for Iowa. All rights reserved.