Skip to main content
ccforiowa.org
Main Content

Certified Nurse Aide Training and Testing

Iowa's Community Colleges offer training for individuals interested in becoming certified nursing assistants (CNAs). The colleges offer both classroom studies and hands-on clinical training. Written and skills tests also are provided by the schools for anyone interested. Contact information as well as links for the course and testing information for each community college are provided below. If testing availability does not suit a potential CNA's schedule, they may contact their nearest community college for other options.

Successful completion of both tests is required to be placed on the Iowa Direct Care Worker Registry (DCW). If a potential CNA does not pass either one of the tests in three attempts, the 75-hour course and tests must be retaken.

Click the name of the school to be linked to the college's CNA program information.

Northeast Iowa Community College

1625 Highway 150 South, Box 400 | Calmar, Iowa 52132

Jomarie Scholtes | scholtes@nicc.edu | 844.642.2338 ext. 6905


North Iowa Area Community College

500 College Dr | Mason City, Iowa 50401

Conrae Huniker conrae.huninker@niacc | 641.422.4437 | FAX:641.422.4112

Dena Ketelsen | dena.ketelsen@niacc.edu | 641.422.416 | FAX: 641.423.1711


Iowa Lakes Community College

3200 College Dr | Emmetsburg, Iowa 50536

Chantel Teeter | cteeter@iowalakes.edu | tel:+1-712-852-5227


Northwest Iowa Community College

603 West Park St | Sheldon, Iowa 51201-1046

Sonya Newkirk | snewkirk@nwicc.edu | 712.324.5061


Iowa Central Community College

One Triton Cir | Fort Dodge, Iowa 50501

Brenda Larsen 800.362.2793 or 515.574.1330 | FAX: 515.574.1321


Iowa Valley Community College District

3702 South Center St | Marshalltown, Iowa 50158

Jon Nunez | Jon.Nunez@iavalley.edu | 641.844.5656 | FAX: 641.752.1692

Julie Thomas | Julie.Thomas@iavalley.edu | 641.752.4645 | FAX: 641.752.1692

Virginia Zahnd | Virginia.Zahnd@iavalley.edu | 641.844.5623


Hawkeye Community College

120 Jefferson St | Waterloo, Iowa 50701

Elizabeth Cummings | elizabeth.cummings@hawkeyecollege.edu | 319.296.4456


Eastern Iowa Community Colleges

101 W Third St | Davenport, Iowa 52801

Registration phone number: 563.441.4100

Debbie Ludvigsen | daludvigsen@eicc.edu | 563.336.3454 | FAX: 563.336.3350


Kirkwood Community College

6301 Kirkwood Blvd SW | Cedar Rapids, Iowa 52404

Kimberly Klein | Kimberly.klein@kirkwood.edu | 319.398.4970 | FAX: 319.398.7741


Des Moines Area Community College

2006 S Ankeny Blvd | Ankeny, Iowa 50023

Registration Phone: 800.342.0033 or 515.964.6800

Tammy Steinwandt | tjsteinwandt@dmacc.edu | 515.256.4906

Melissa Simmons mlsimmons3@dmacc.edu | 515.256.4908

Melanie Muth | mmmuth@dmacc.edu | 515.965.7095


Western Iowa Tech Community College

4647 Stone Ave | Sioux City, Iowa 51106
Mary Steinhauer Mary.Steinhauer@witcc.edu | 712.274.8733 ext. 1471 | FAX: 712.274.6412

Debbie Rodriguez | Debbie.Rodriguez@witcc.edu | 712.274.8733 ext. 2151 | FAX: 712.274.6412


Iowa Western Community College

2700 College Rd, Box 54-C | Council Bluffs, Iowa 51502-3004

Rhonda Casson | rcasson@iwcc.edu | 712.325.3259 | FAX: 712.325.3271

Wendy Hunter Williams | 712.325.3357 | FAX: 712.325.3271


Southwestern Community College

1501 West Townline St | Creston, Iowa 50801

Janet Wuebker | wuebker@swcciowa.edu | 641.782.1445 or 800.247.4023 ext. 445 | FAX: 641.782.1334


Indian Hills Community College

525 Grandview Ave | Ottumwa, Iowa 52501

Lori Reeves | 641.683.5337 or 800.726.2585 ext. 5337 | FAX: 641.683.5296


Southeastern Community College

1500 West Agency Rd, Box 180 | West Burlington, Iowa 52655-0180

Alicia Anderson | aanderson1@scciowa.edu | 319.208.5278 or 319.752.2731 ext. 5278 | FAX: 319.208.5005

© 2022 Community Colleges for Iowa. All rights reserved.