Skip to main content
Main Content

Board Members & Officers

Each of the fifteen Community Colleges has a Trustee who serves on the IACCT Board of Directors.  The Community Colleges are served by 124 Trustees, who are locally-elected officials serving without pay.  They oversee the largest Higher Education system of the state, serving the equivalent of nearly 17% percent of Iowa's population or 532,526 students in credit and non-credit coursework in FY2021.

2022-2023 Officers

Officer Role College
Joanna Hofer Board Chair Iowa Valley Community College District
Vacant 1st Vice-Board Chair  
Vacant  2nd Vice-Board Chair  
Derrick Franck Past Board Chair Western Iowa Tech Community College
Connie Hornbeck Treasurer Iowa Western Community College


2022-2023 Members

Member Location Number College
Bob Shafer Dubuque I Northeast Iowa Community College
Cathy Rottinghaus Charles City II North Iowa Area Community College
Jan Lund  Estherville III Iowa Lakes Community College
Larry Hoekstra  Hull IV Northwest Iowa Community College
Darrell Determann Eagle Grove V Iowa Central Community College
Joanna Hofer Toledo VI Iowa Valley Community College District
JoDee Knox Cedar Falls VII Hawkeye Community College
Deborah Tappendorf  Davenport IX Eastern Iowa Community College District
Alan Jensen  North English X Kirkwood Community College
Cheryl Langston  Ames XI Des Moines Area Community College
Derrick Franck  Denison XII Western Iowa Tech Community College
Connie Hornbeck  Logan XIII Iowa Western Community College
Jerry Smith  Osceola XIV Southwestern Community College
Richard Gaumer  Ottumwa XV Indian Hills Community College
Moudy Nabulsi  Fort Madison XVI Southeastern Community College



© 2022 Community Colleges for Iowa. All rights reserved.